Skip to content

The Best Vegan Junk Food You’ll Fall in Love With!

vegan-approved vegan junk food

Last Updated on October 28, 2022 by Jim Edwards

Veganism is on the rise as people look for healthier food alternatives derived from plant sources and ethical means. Veganism is a kind of lifestyle based on the idea of abstaining from animal-based products since vegans do not believe animals should be part of the human diet.

There are quite a few types of vegans based on their philosophy of saving the animals or protecting the environment,and they refrain from consuming eggs, meat, dairy, and their products remains the same.

Many people unfamiliar with this diet believe vegans only eat bland vegetable-based foods that are only high in nutrition and do not provide any flavor value.

You would be surprised to know that vegans enjoy a variety of nutrient-rich and delicious snacks that you might not have heard about.

On the other hand, many of the snacks you enjoy daily are vegan. Although these snacks and candies are not purposefully vegan, they do not contain egg, dairy, and meat products, which means anyone can enjoy them without any worries.

To help you add variety to your junk food collection, we have compiled a list of the top 6 best vegan junk food you will absolutely love!


Here Are the Top Six Best Vegan Junk Food Loved by All Vegans!

You may have heard about some of the best vegan junk food items chosen here, while some of them may be entirely new to you. Read about their taste and flavors to know which one you need to pick up on your next trip to the supermarket.

Oreo Cookies are one of the best vegan junk food

Oreo Chocolate Sandwich Cookies

An indulgent snack for all, most Oreo chocolate sandwich cookies are entirely vegan, with a few exceptions due to their filling. Despite what you might think, Oreos have been a vegan and dairy-free snack from the beginning, and with the plethora of flavors to choose from, it is no doubt we have ranked it as the top vegan go-to junk food.

There are three types of sizes of Oreos you can choose from standard size, family-size, and single-serve. Whether you would like to indulge in the creamy and crumbly delight on your own or share with your siblings and parents, you can choose between the single-serve and family-size options. Many of the larger Oreo cookie packages come with a resealable top, which helps maintain freshness and store the cookies within the packet itself.

Oreos were launched in the early 20th century, and over the years, Oreo has released around 85 different flavors! From limited-edition Oreos to seasonal flavors for Halloween and Christmas, there are all kinds of cookies for people with a sweet tooth. Unconventional flavors from the company include Caramel Coconut Oreos, Apple Cider Oreos, Carrot Cake Oreos, and even Chromatica Lady Gaga Oreos.

Read ->  Junk Food – Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Nevertheless, if you are a fan of the classic flavors like Golden Oreos, Fudge Covered Oreos, or the Classic Oreo itself, you can continue to enjoy these delicious cookies without any worries. Note that not all flavors of Oreos are vegan (Honey Oreos), and some may contain animal products and nuts.

See our complete guide to Oreos here

Justin’s Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups

If you were a fan of Reese’s Cups before choosing the vegan lifestyle, you would love this delicious Reese’s Cups vegan alternative: Justin’s Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups.

Justin’s Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups are much creamier and more luxurious tasting than the standard alternative due to their organic peanut butter inside and high-quality organic dark chocolate on the outside.

These delicious chocolate peanut butter cups are non-GMO and gluten-free, making the overall taste much smoother and more authentic.

This is a much healthier choice as well since it is not laden with sugars and fats but is only lightly sweetened, which balances perfectly with the nutty filling.

The natural dark chocolate makes most vegans come for this delicious chocolate treat again and again. Many people have actually claimed to have lost weight while eating these since they are an all-natural creamy treat.

Justin’s Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups are not just available in dark chocolate but can also be tried in milk and white chocolate, but it is unclear if these are vegan options.

Since these chocolates have not been labeled vegan, many call them accidentally vegan due to their healthy ingredient list. Justin’s dark chocolate cashew butter and almond butter are also other vegan options you might enjoy as a fan of the original.

Twizzlers candy


Twizzlers are one of the most popular chewy licorice candies available in the United States of America. Some have said that Twizzlers bear a slight resemblance to actual licorice.

But in reality, they do not contain licorice root or extract, which may have been the reason why it is so popular among children. Twizzlers are available in various shapes such as Twists, NIBS, Bites in Black, Pull’ n’ Peel, chocolate, cherry, and Filled Twists.

You might think non-chocolate treats and candies may not contain animal ingredients, but by-products are pretty typical to find in jellies and candies without dairy.

Gelatin (made from animal tendons, bones, and skin) and Carmine (made from beetles) are some of the ingredients that are known to be the telltale sign regarding if a product is vegan or not. Good news for vegans: Twizzlers do not contain either of those ingredients and are completely free of any animal products.

Read ->  What Are The Best Pizza Toppings?

Twizzlers are delicious licorice candy available in sour fruit flavors such as strawberry, grapes, and cherry. Although this junk food does not have any beneficial nutrition in it, it makes for a fantastic snacking option when you are bored or in need of a high sugar rush.

Pringles – one of the best vegan junk food

Pringles Original Potato Crisps

Pringles have been known to be the fourth-most popular snack globally due to its spectacular taste and variety of flavors.

Still, most people are unaware that a few of Pringles crisps’ flavors are vegan and can be enjoyed without any stress about animal products.

These crispy potato chips are often thought to be completely vegan due to their unique texture. The dry and crumbly texture of the chips is just due to the dehydrated potato flour, as it deliciously melts in your mouth with a lovely saltiness.

Pringles is a brand that has been around for a long time, since 1966, and is available in a large standard size packaging and a smaller grab-and-go packaging.

The most exclusive thing about the Pringles packaging is the resealable can which is an instant reminder for Pringles. The long crisps can can be passed around the room for everyone to enjoy or can be resealed and stored to enjoy later.

Over the years, there have been around a hundred different flavors of the crisps, with almost 29 varieties available currently.

Although many of the flavors are specific to some regions, there are still a few staple classics available worldwide.

Nevertheless, there are a limited variety of flavors available for vegans free of dairy and meat products, such as Pringles Wavy Classic, Pringles Sriracha Asian Chili Sauce, Pringles Bacon Flavored Potato Crisps, Pringles Kickin’ Chicken Taco Flavored Potato Crisps, and Pringles Lightly Salted Original.

Bac’n Pieces

Bac’n Pieces are deep reddish-brown bacon-flavored bits that are an absolute delight for the tongue.

But don’t let the description fool you; these bacon-flavored granules contain no animal products at all.

They are actually a miracle of culinary science that these brilliantly red granules—which lend a bacony smokiness to any food they’re added to —don’t include animal by-products.

Add it to your salad, baked potatoes, beans, vegetables, asparagus, basically anything, and the bacon flavor, along with its crunchiness, will help enhance the taste of your meal.

However, like most other junk foods mentioned in this list, Bac’n Pieces taste best by themselves when applied directly to your tongue.


Fritos are one of the oldest and most renowned corn chips brands in the United States.

The 3 primary ingredients that the original Fritos corn chips feature are corn oil, corn, and salt, which is a surprisingly low number of ingredients for such a widely recognized salty snack.

Read ->  What Are the Best Low-Calorie Junk Food Options?

The good news here is that not a single one of the aforementioned ingredients is derived from animals making it a great snacking option for vegans.

It is important to remember that the other flavors of Fritos, especially those with the phrase “natural flavorings” in the ingredients list, should be avoided. This is because the phrase “natural flavorings” is quite vague, and it is difficult to discern for sure whether or not the manufacturer means that the product is free of animal products.

I Only Ate VEGAN JUNK FOOD for 24 hours

Vegan food is often considered boring and tasteless. Today, I’m going to find out whether there’s any truth to these claims by trying out all kinds of appetizing vegan junk food and judging if they taste good or bad.

Related: How to Stop Eating Junk Food


Although finding good vegan snacks may seem like a hassle, you can’t deny that the flavor and satisfaction you get from enjoying vegan snacks are entirely different.

Not only are you upholding your values about animal cruelty and environmental issues, but you don’t have to compromise on taste while munching on some of the best vegan junk food the country has to offer.

Vegan food does not have to be boring, but it can still be fun without letting up your health goals. Nevertheless, it is advisable to always check the ingredient list for any junk food items since not all variations and flavors are vegan.

Related Articles

Learn about Gluten-Free Junk Food

Celebrate National Junk Food Day

What Are Oreo Thins – An Oreo, But Thinner!?

The 8 Most Delicious and Healthy Vegan Snacks You Need to Try

The Best Vegan Junk Food


Image Credits:

2006-7-29 Oreo Cookies” by JanetandPhil is marked with CC BY-NC-ND 2.0.

Twizzlers Bubble Gum Pull ‘n’ Peel” by theimpulsivebuy is marked with CC BY-SA 2.0.

Pringles” by JeepersMedia is marked with CC BY 2.0.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *