- 1 What are Skittles Sour Candy?
- 2 History of Skittles
- 3 What is the Taste and Flavor of Skittles Sour Candy like?
- 4 What are the ingredients in Skittles Sour Candy?
- 5 Nutritional Facts of Skittles Sour Candy
- 6 Skittles Sour Candy Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
- 7 Sour Skittles Taste Test
What are Skittles Sour Candy?
Sour Skittles are small, chewy candies that have different fruit flavors. They are basically regular skittles but more sour due to the sour sugar coating on the outside. Each packet includes a variety of fruit flavors. The campaign “taste the rainbow” is associated with the candy because of the rainbow colors present in the packet and they have some of the best ads in the candy industry!
Note: See our Skittles review here and we also show the funny ads there too.
Skittles Sour candies come in an assortment of six different flavors – green apple, lemon, lime, orange, strawberry, and grape.
History of Skittles
A British company first released Skittles in 1974. The name was inspired by a game called ‘skittles.’ The candy’s shape resembles the shape of the dice used in the game.
Another theory behind the name is that a certain British man named ‘Mr. Skittles’ came up with the idea of the candy. One fine day he was gazing at the sky and noticed a rainbow. He wondered what the rainbow would taste like. Hence the campaign “taste the rainbow” was born.
Skittles were imported to North America for the first time in 1979. Domestic production began in 1982 in the United States.
Skittles launched its website in 2009 along with a Facebook profile, Twitter account, and YouTube channel. Their web-based marketing was unique and not well received by the masses.
In 2009, Skittles discontinued the animal-based gelatin. It was replaced by plant-based gelatin ingredients to make the candy suitable for consumption for vegans and vegetarians.
The Skittles Sour candies were introduced in 2001, followed by the Crazy Sours in 2003.
In 2016, Skittles was involved in a controversy when they switched from rainbow colors to all-white candies to support Gay Rights. The community misread their intentions, and the Wrigley Company had to issue an official statement justifying their move, along with an apology.
In 2018, Skittles were declared the most popular candy in the majority of the states during Halloween.
Mars Incorporated owns Skittles. It is sold under the subsidiary called Mars Wrigley Confectionery.
What is the Taste and Flavor of Skittles Sour Candy like?
Sour Skittles have a similar texture as the classic Skittles. Compared to the original candy pieces, Sour Skittles are extremely fruity and tangy. The flavors are basically the same, but what makes them taste sour is the “sour sugar” that they are coated with on the outside. We wrote a whole post about what makes sour candy taste sour to explain the food chemistry.
The different colors and flavors are mentioned below:
What are the ingredients in Skittles Sour Candy?
The ingredients in Skittles Sour candy are corn syrup, sugar, hydrogenated palm kernel oil, sodium citrate, carnauba wax, less than 2% of modified corn starch, tapioca dextrin, citric acid, titanium dioxide, natural flavors, artificial flavors, and artificial colors (Yellow 5, Yellow 5 Lake, Yellow 6, Yellow 6 Lake, Blue 1, Blue 1 Lake, Blue 2 Lake, Red 40, Red 40 Lake).
Related: Sour Jacks Sour Wedges – a newly redesigned and updated sour candy.
Nutritional Facts of Skittles Sour Candy
The nutritional facts mentioned below are for a serving size of 100 grams.
|% Daily Value|
|Total Fat (4 g)||6%|
|Saturated Fat (3.8 g)||19%|
|Trans Fat (0.1 g)|
|Total Carbohydrates (91 g)||30%|
|Dietary Fiber (0 g)||0%|
|Total Sugar (73 g)|
|Sodium (14 mg)||0%|
|Cholesterol (0 mg)||0%|
|Protein (0.2 g)||0%|
|Iron (0 mg)||0%|
|Calcium (0 mg)||0%|
|Vitamin C (53 mg)||101%|
Skittles Sour Candy Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
How many calories are there in Skittles Sour Candy?
One hundred grams of Skittles Sour candy contains 401 calories.
A 1.8 oz bag (51 g) of Skittles Sour candy contains 204 calories.
Are Skittles Sour Candy gluten-free?
Skittles Sour candies are 100% gelatin-free and gluten-free.
Are Skittles Sour Candy vegan?
All the ingredients in Skittles Sour candies are plant-based and gelatin free.
Sour Skittles Taste Test
This video is a test test that is a bit extreme. He eats an entire bag. This will give you a good sense of how sour they are!
Related: Cry Baby Gum
I’m Jim Edwards and I started this website to share my love of Junk Food. We cover new junk food, desserts, snack foods, fast food secret menus, candy (of course!) and other related news. We love trying “secret menus” at restaurants. And we love trying new products too. So, we are trying to have some fun with our hobby and share some useful information with you, our community. Please feel to send us your suggestions and feedback through the contact form. And if you have products you would like us to try, let us know…!