Last Updated on May 19, 2021 by Jim Edwards
- 1 What is the 5th Avenue Candy bar?
- 2 History of 5th Avenue Candy bar
- 3 What are the Taste and Flavor of 5th Avenue Candy Bar like?
- 4 Ingredients of 5th Avenue Candy Bar
- 5 Nutritional Facts of 5th Avenue Candy Bar
- 6 Is 5th Avenue Candy Bar Gluten-free?
- 7 How many calories are there in a 5th Avenue Candy Bar?
- 8 Video – 5th Avenue Candy Bar Commercial from 1989
What is the 5th Avenue Candy bar?
5th Avenue Candy Bar is a sweet snack consisting of layers of crunchy peanut butter combined with layers of chocolate. The external packaging is chocolaty in color. Currently, The Hershey Company produces and markets the candy bar.
History of 5th Avenue Candy bar
5th Avenue candy bar had its inception in 1936 in the US by Luden’s. It was a subsidiary of Food Industries of Philadelphia. In terms of taste and ingredients, this candy bar is very similar to Clark Bar and Butterfinger Candy Bar in some ways.
People sometimes wonder how the bar got its name. 5th Avenue is/was a well known fashionable shopping area in New York City. The curator of the candy bar chose the name in an attempt to associate the sweet snack with the upbeat area.
In 1986, Hershey Foods Corporation acquired Luden’s corporation from the Dietrich Corporation (successor of Foods Industries of Philadelphia). A fun fact about the 5th Avenue Candy Bar is that it has not been advertised since 1993, yet you can still find it in small retail stores. People remember the candy bar and occasionally indulge in its sweetness and it has a “retro” appeal especially for people over 45 that may remember having eaten it as a child.
What are the Taste and Flavor of 5th Avenue Candy Bar like?
Two of the main flavors in the candy bar are peanut butter and chocolate. The bar contains layers of both ingredients. The peanut butter layers are crunchy, whereas the chocolate layers are smooth. The bar is not very hard to chew and is more on the soft side, so it is good for older people too.
Overall, the 5th avenue is nutty and sweet in taste. The core is extremely soft and melts in your mouth, leaving a sugary after-taste.
Related: Peanut M&M’s
Ingredients of 5th Avenue Candy Bar
The ingredients of 5th Avenue Candy Bar are: corn syrup, sugar, peanuts, vegetable oil (palm kernel, cocoa butter, shea, palm, safflower oil, sunflower oil), chocolate, molasses, contains 2% or less of milk, cocoa, whey (milk), milk fat, lactose (milk), soy lecithin, salt, emulsifier, PGPR, TBHQ (preservative), artificial flavor, and sulfur dioxide to maintain freshness.
Nutritional Facts of 5th Avenue Candy Bar
The nutritional facts mentioned below are for a serving size of 1 bar (2 oz or 56g).
|% Daily Value|
|Protein (5 g)||10%|
|Total Fat (13 g)||17%|
|Saturated Fat (4 g)||19%|
|Monounsaturated Fat (6 g)||0%|
|Polyunsaturated Fat (2 g)||0%|
|Total Carbohydrate (35 g)||13%|
|Sugar (26 g)||0%|
|Dietary Fiber (2 g)||6%|
|Sodium (126 mg)||5%|
|Cholesterol (3 mg)||1%|
|Folic Acid (B9)||5%|
Is 5th Avenue Candy Bar Gluten-free?
No, the candy bar is not gluten-free. It consists of whey extracts.
How many calories are there in a 5th Avenue Candy Bar?
In a single serving size of 2 ounces (56 g), there are 270 calories present.
Related: Oh Henry Candy Bar
Video – 5th Avenue Candy Bar Commercial from 1989
This is a very fun walk back through memory lane to see how the candy bar was advertised a 30 plus years ago!
I’m Jim Edwards and I started this website to share my love of Junk Food. We cover new junk food, desserts, snack foods, fast food secret menus, candy (of course!) and other related news. We love trying “secret menus” at restaurants. And we love trying new products too. So, we are trying to have some fun with our hobby and share some useful information with you, our community. Please feel to send us your suggestions and feedback through the contact form. And if you have products you would like us to try, let us know…!