Last Updated on July 1, 2021 by Jim Edwards
What are Red Vines Candy?
Red Vines are one of the most famous red licorice. In the United States, they are a common item at movie theaters and a candy that people associate with their childhood and eating candy, popcorn and soft drinks while they watch a movie. Red vines are very soft and chewy candy twists, manufactured and distributed by the American Licorice Company.
The candies are long twisted strands that are very flexible when you hold them. They are sold in bulk packages.
However, it is to be noted that the Red Vines Licorice candies do not contain real licorice plant root extracts.
Red Vines is often compared with Twizzlers due to a similarity in their look and texture. Both the brands have dismissed the report saying that it is merely fan rivalry. Both the candies might look alike but have a totally different taste, and red vines are easier to chew and thinner than Twizzlers.
History of Red Vines Licorice Candy
Red Vines is a reputed red licorice candy brand. The original candies were first introduced in the 1920s. It was raspberry flavored. Later in 1952, a slight change in the product formula was implemented. The new formula was introduced in the form of Red Vines Original Red Twist.
The Red Vines Licorice candies are produced and marketed by the American Licorice Company in Union City, California. The company used to sell only black licorice earlier. However, in the 1950s, they began producing raspberry-flavored twists.
Originally the candy was called Raspberry Vines. It was renamed Red Vines in 1958. Soon, red licorice became more popular than their black counterparts.
If you like soft chewy candy, you will probably also like Botan Rice Candy.
Video: Twizzlers vs. Red Vines
People often wonder about the difference between the two. And so did we!
This video takes you through the manufacturing and taste differences. And it also includes a blindfolded taste test.
Definitely worth a watch!
If you like soft licorice like Twizzlers and also like a little bit of sour, be sure to see my review of SweetTart Ropes
Red Vines Licorice – Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
What is the Taste and Flavor of Red Vines Licorice Candy like?
The Red Vines Licorice candies are very soft and chewy in texture. The taste is fruity and pleasant. One can get hints of raspberry flavor in the twisty strands. The candy leaves a sweet aftertaste in your mouth.
Since the candies are referred as licorice candies, one should remember that it does not contain real licorice extracts. Only the black licorice candies contain root extracts of the licorice plants.
What are the ingredients in Red Vines Licorice Candy?
The ingredients in Red Vines Licorice Candy are wheat flour, citric acid, corn syrup, artificial flavor, and artificial color (Red 40).
Nutritional Facts of Red Vines Licorice Candy
The nutritional facts mentioned below are for a serving size of three twists, weighing approximately 30 grams.
|% Daily Value|
|Total Fat (0 g)||0%|
|Saturated Fat (0 g)||0%|
|Trans Fat (0 g)||0%|
|Total Carbohydrate (25 g)||9%|
|Dietary Fiber (0 g)||0%|
|Sugar (12 g)|
|Of which added sugar (12 g)||24%|
|Cholesterol (0 mg)||0%|
|Protein (1 g)|
|Sodium (15 mg)||1%|
|Iron (0 mg)||0%|
|Calcium (0 mg)||0%|
|Potassium (17 mg)|
|Vitamin D (0 mcg)||0%|
How many calories are there in Red Vines Licorice Candy?
The serving size of three candy twists (30 g) contains 100 calories.
Is Red Vines Licorice Candy Gluten-free?
No, Red Vines Licorice candies are not gluten-free. They contain wheat flour as one of their key ingredients. People with celiac disease should avoid the candy at any cost.
Is Red Vines Licorice Candy Vegan?
Red Vines Licorice candies do not contain any animal products in them. They are completely vegan. For an added precaution, we encourage you to check the candy package before purchasing it.
How can I keep my Red Vines Fresh?
Keep them in an airtight container at room temperature. If you buy them in the larger jar, just make sure it is sealed and they will stay fresh.
How long do red vines last?
According to the company they have a 9 month shelf life. If you look at the package there is a “best before” date code that is printed on the package. It shows the month, date and year that they recommend you consume the product by. For example, if the code says 061923, that means they are fresh until June 19, 2023.
Do red vines contain actual licorice?
No. Only the actual black licorice vines contain actual licorice.
Are Red Vines kosher?
Yes. And actually all of the red vines products are Star-K kosher-certified.
Do red vines contain animal products?
No. They do not contain any animal products.
Do red vines products contain peanuts or peanut oil?
The company says that their products do not contain peanuts or tree nuts and they are not manufactured in a facility that processes either nut. But their facilities are not completely nut free since employees could be eating nuts in their lunch or snacks. So they encourage people with extreme allergies to peanuts or tree nuts to be cautious.
Video: How Red Vines are Made
If you’ve made it to the end you are probably a huge fan and will enjoy this video. It shows you the American Licorice Company factory and assembly line. Very fun to see how the vines are made!
I’m Jim Edwards and I started this website to share my love of Junk Food. We cover new junk food, desserts, snack foods, fast food secret menus, candy (of course!) and other related news. We love trying “secret menus” at restaurants. And we love trying new products too. So, we are trying to have some fun with our hobby and share some useful information with you, our community. Please feel to send us your suggestions and feedback through the contact form. And if you have products you would like us to try, let us know…!